Department awards $24,500 at annual banquet

Department awards $24,500 at annual banquet


The WSU Department of Sociology awarded a combined $24,500 to undergraduates and graduates during the annual departmental banquet. The banquet is an opportunity for Sociology faculty, staff, students, alumni, and friends to come together and recognize each others’ accomplishments. The funds acknowledge academic excellence and help support numerous research projects.

Photos by Don Dillman

Award recipients

Undergraduates Lauren Labrosse (left) and Belen Carriedo (right), pictured with Kristin Cutler, were awarded the Jean Jewette Scholarship. The scholarship recognizes undergraduate students  pursuing careers in social service administration or other administrative positions in the public sector.


Joseph Kremer

Graduate student Joseph Kremer (foreground) was recognized for completing his dissertation. He will start his new job in fall 2015 as an assistant professor at Luther College in Decorah, Iowa.


From left to right, Hong Zhang, Kristin Cutler, Jose Collazo, and Jennifer Schwartz. Zhang and Collazo were awarded both the Minority Fellowship and the Wardwell Alumni Scholarship.


Graduate student James McCall was awarded the First Year Award.

Graduate student award recipients

From left to right, Alana Inlow, Pierce Greenberg, Kristin Cutler, Michael Lengefeld, and Jennifer Schwartz. Inlow, Greenberg, and Lengefeld were recipients of the Fred Yoder Graduate Fellowship. Valerie Adrian, Ashley Colby, and Sarah Akers (not pictured) also received the fellowship.

Lisa McIntyre

Department chair Lisa McIntyre fulfilled her annual role as the MC for the banquet.

Group photo

Professor Emeritus Jim Short (left) and recent doctoral recipient Feng Hao (second from right) were joined at the banquet by Feng’s wife, Weiwei Huang, on his left, and Joye Dillman.

Other honorees included:


Exceptional Senior Award – Dominique Keel

Paul & Bessie Landis Scholarship – Anjelica Reyna

Ruth Magnuson Roberts Scholarship – Samantha Case

Herbert & Mary Wensky Neil Scholarship – Sreenath Panchagnula

Norman & Linda Baer Scholarship – Belen Carriedo


Dissertation Research Award – Katherine Bittinger

Susan and Sarah Dolan Memorial Scholarship – Katherine Bittinger


Louis N. Gray Graduate Student Advocate Award – Raoul S. Líevanos